Just do it!

One of my readers asked yesterday how I got into a good fitness routine so I decided to blog my answer in case others were interested as well.  The answer is complicated so use whatever you want for what works for you but the bottom line is to just do it!

For me it all started when I bought my fitbit zip for $50 at a weight watchers meeting and began to compete against others for daily and weekly steps.  It got me into walking around 10,000 steps a day on a regular basis.  From there I wanted more but it took a while to get up to 7-10 miles a day.  I used to never win these friendly but competitive competitions but now I sometimes win and that is fun and encourages me to walk more.

Next thing that really helped was joining Sparkpeople almost a year ago.  It is free if you want to put up with annoying ads but well worth the small investment and have better features to help with weight loss, exercise and nutrition.  I started by taking challenges that led to getting even more active with strength training, yoga and pilates.  From there I was hooked and regularly feeling the benefits of exercise.

Then almost 3 months ago I started to better organize my routines and fell in love with Leslie Sansone videos which are available on Youtube or you can buy a dvd on Amazon which I did both.  I regularly walk her 3K which is light aerobic workout and now do her 5 mile workout 6 days a week at home.  I do have a gym membership but mostly workout at home and have found some great videos on Youtube which help me to organize my workouts.  I workout with Rebecca Louise, Jessica Smith and Leslie as I mentioned.

I not only have more energy throughout the day but I am in a better mood the days I workout and sleep like a baby at night.  I am addicted to exercise but my body and mind thank me every day I am able to get in a good workout!

Having Schizoaffective Disorder doesn’t have to be dreary.  With the help of exercise I don’t even feel like I have it some days!  I just wish I could get paid for working out because the bills are piling up while I await my hearing for permanent disability…..

Hope everyone has a great day.  If anyone else wants to chime in on the topic of how to get in a good exercise routine I am sure others will benefit too!

Pax

Victoria

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

