Short bio

Welcome to my blog!

My name is Victoria and I suffer from Schizoaffective Disorder (SA), which is basically Schizophrenia plus depression; this blog journals my progress from fall 2013 to now although I was diagnosed in 2008. I have experienced both the positive (hallucinations and delusions) and negative symptoms (lack of motivation, flat affect. social difficulties) of Schizophrenia and while the positive symptoms have been under control with Risperdal, since being diagnosed with Schizoaffective Disorder by UCLA in 2008, I have still suffered from the negative symptoms until recently when my psychiatrist added Latuda. Post diagnosis I received my Masters Degree in Psychology and used to work in the mental health field until stress caused me to try to go on permanent disability in September 2015.

I started this blog in fall 2013 which journals my personal recovery from Schizophrenia. The earliest entries chart my psychotic period 2006/2007 with much in between and my current focus is managing the negative symptoms of Schizophrenia. I welcome all feedback and enjoy meeting new people through this blog and other articles I have written. I have also written a book which is available on Amazon by me, Victoria Marie Alonso- My personal recovery from Schizophrenia, which is for loved ones or those afflicted with this disorder. This blog has been viewed over 11000 times and by over 50 countries! Bienvenidos a todos! Welcome to all!

Please feel free to email me to share your story or that of a loved one at:victoriamariealonso@yahoo.com

Other mental health providers or researchers are welcome to ask any questions, as well.

 

Pax

Victoria

6 comments on “Short bio

  1. Hey Victoria! I can’t wait to see more posts from you! Cheers! Epic Chas Gamer 🙂

  2. Thank you for sharing so openly Victoria!

  3. Thank you for your extensive personal online presence. In common with yourself, I am a long-term sufferer of schizophrenia who has entered the publishing industry.
    Let’s break through “the glass ceiling” which prevents the mentally ill from being accepted, let alone understood. My website: http://www.survivingschizophrenia.websie may be of interest to you.
    Best wishes!

  4. Irene says:

    I admire you for putting yourself out there. Thank you for talking about schizoaffective disorder so openly. ❤💕

Leave a Reply

