Life can be hard with this diagnosis

Hello! Victoria here! Welcome to my blog on my journey since 2008 when I was diagnosed with Schizophrenia by a team of doctors at UCLA and later rediagnosed by my now psychiatrist with Schizoaffective Disorder. I was 38 at the time which is late in life to be diagnosed but it is what it is. After being diagnosed I went on to earn my Master’s Degree in Psychology and was working in the mental health field up until 2 weeks ago. Unfortunately, due to this disorder I can’t handle stress as it causes a relapse of symptoms and brings about thoughts of wanting to die along with sometimes psychotic symptoms. When I am not working (I have taken several disability breaks and one hospitalization since I began working) I do pretty good but it takes longer each time to get back to a good place so I have decided along with my psychiatrist’s help to go on permanent disability. I truly feel like this is the right decision because I don’t know how many recoveries I have and although I enjoy working believe that I can volunteer still and do a better job at managing my home and family while on disability. I will be taking a break from blogging until I am at a better place but will still answer emails and comments. I can be reached at: victoriamariealonso@yahoo.com
Thank you for all the emails, I have truly met some life long friends on here with other people who also suffer with this disorder and many loved ones with family also afflicted.
Pax
Victoria

Leave a Reply

