Am I just a lucky one? or are there more of us doing well?

 

Today I spoke to a reader who is struggling with a loved one with Schizoaffective Disorder who is not doing well and who is in my opinion over medicated by their psychiatrist.  As I was describing all I have done post diagnosis (got my Master’s Degree in psychology, work part time, manage a family, write a blog, and travel to name a few things I have accomplished since being diagnosed in 2008) and I felt very lucky that I am able to do so many things.  I know about a handful of people I have met through this blog who are somewhat able to live a productive life with this diagnosis but I would love to hear from more, either in the comments or email me and share your successes, please.  I want to give her hope and I know there are more of us “lucky ones” out there.

Don’t misunderstand me.  I have had my share of difficulties (3 hospitalizations, months of time off on disability, struggles with socialization, although not recently) but have been able to be more productive than not since being diagnosed.  Of course what helps too is that my immediate family including my husband of 23 years are patient with me and some of them are a great support especially my adult daughter who is moving out of state in July:(  Sure we will facetime but it won’t be the same.  I have had several years to prepare for her to depart though and have built a support system outside of her so that I won’t be as disrupted by her move as much.  I have an awesome, understanding psychiatrist, an excellent therapist (who I see on an as need basis), friends and my dogs who are there for me every day to help me with my anxiety.

I find I don’t really need to blog anymore as a way to cope, but I enjoy all the emails I get and the people I have met through this blog so will continue to blog my personal recovery from Schizoaffective Disorder.

That being said, I welcome any topic anyone might want me to expand on!

On a side note regarding my sign off with Pax, there is a precious saint I honor every time I write it.  Her name is St. Philomena and I ask for her intercession often to help me and my loved ones.  I recommend it highly to those who are Catholic or not!  Sadly we will not be visiting her tomb when we go to Italy but we are taking a day trip to San Giovanni Rotondo to visit the resting place of Padre Pio a modern day saint I have a special affection for also.

Pax

Victoria

 

3 comments on “Am I just a lucky one? or are there more of us doing well?

  1. Becky says:

    My youngest stepson was diagnosed with paranoid schizophrenia over a year ago. He didn’t accept the diagnosis until after he was hospitalized for a second time. He’s been on meds for 6 months now. That is controlling the angry outbursts and he doesn’t hide in his room or spend hours in the bathroom anymore. That’s the good part. However, he doesn’t socialize with anyone outside our household. He only visits his mom maybe once every couple of months. And she lives in the same town. He’s only 20. He seems to lack “common sense” when it comes to simple things now. I don’t know if that makes sense to you. His dad (my husband) thinks he’s over medicated. I don’t. I think he needs more therapy. Sometimes I think he’s manipulating us in a way to avoid the responsibilities of life. Again, if that makes sense to you. But I think he does it out of fear of what others might think of him. He’s not a stupid kid. When he was in school, he was popular, he had friends and I really thought he would go far in life. Now I feel like he’s just fine letting us take care of him. I don’t know how to direct him. I want him to be able to live like a “normal” adult. Cook, socialize, go to college. He doesn’t even seem to recognize or acknowledge when his bathroom needs cleaned. I hope this is making sense to you. Any suggestions or input would be helpful.

    • Becky,
      My heart aches with yours; it all makes sense to me and unfortunately there is no easy answer except for me to say God bless you for helping to support him so much. Sometimes I believe that the reason why I do so well is because I don’t have support such as what you have been giving. My husband doesn’t know a thing about my disorder and my mom only gets that I was very sick for almost 2 years and now that I am on medicine I am not sick anymore except for brief relapses when I get stressed out. It is at those times that I lean on my daughter age 20 and my psychiatrist who has not steered me wrong yet. I am able to be totally honest with my symptoms and he and I discuss the various options of medicine and therapy of which I trust him completely. I tell you all this to help you see that what you are doing for him is awesome really. This disorder can be debilitating and although it sounds like your stepson can do better, I also wonder if he is on the right cocktail of meds. I would also ask if he seems actively psychotic (out of touch with reality)? It sounds like he may be which if that is the case a med adjustment is paramount to getting him to partake in life again. Just the fact that you are reaching out to others like me shows how much you do care and deep down know he may be able to be better. While there has been improvement, a good therapist could also be the catalyst to help him take more responsibility although if he is psychotic that won’t help very much. I hope some of this helps. I encourage you to write to me on email if you would like to discuss some other options further too. You can reach me at victoriamariealonso@yahoo.com Pax Victoria

  2. Victoria, I find your ability be honest about what is going well (such as the great relationship with your psychiatrist) and what has been difficult (other docs you mentioned) really great. It’s talking about the ups and downs, rather than just one side, that I find helpful. I’m glad you’re still blogging–even if you don’t need it to “cope,” you are clearly really helping people who can use your advice!

Leave a Reply

