Learning to relax again…

Today was a pretty good day.  I worked in the morning and in the afternoon went whale watching off of the coast of Santa Barbara.  My friend and I saw about ten whales which was magnificent to see these beautiful creatures coasting sometimes along the side of the boat or watch them playing from afar.  But the best part was I was at ease with myself and at one point as I was relaxing on the cozy cushions on the boat I just sat there and felt the sun on my face and felt so relaxed.  It was incredible from where I was just a few months ago.  The best part is I get to go out again on the same boat on Saturday with my husband.

What does this have to do with recovery from Schizoaffective Disorder?  A lot.  I don’t relax very easy as I am pretty anxious most of the time but today out on the water I felt like my old self again which was pretty awesome.  Getting out in nature lately has really helped my recovery.  I will never be fully recovered but little by little I feel like I am becoming more symptom free on medicine and learning to live with the side effects.  Here is to all of us who have this terrible disorder, whether it is nature, church, or anything we enjoy, let us all partake in life again and attempt better days like today!

Pax

Victoria

This entry was posted in Hope.

Leave a Reply

