The dangers of comparing…

Welcome to my new readers from Brazil, France and India!

I caught myself recently comparing my situation to others.  I was doing really well for a while and now am in a rough patch, off work on disability for a while and just waiting to feel like I can work again, which I think will be soon hopefully.  I just hope my doctor agrees.

So I have found that mental illness is a lot like a roller coaster ride, lots of ups, downs, curves and straight spots.  I must embrace those straight spots and shoot for the even keel.  In the past I have reached out to others who were struggling and right now others are reaching out to me.  This is the great part of life, never boring for long.

I actually thought about this at the gym.  Some of the people were skinny and fit, others had a way to go.  I am somewhere in between.  I must be content with who I am, always working to get better and not be so hard on myself when I am not succeeding the way I plan.  Mental illness is the same way I find.

It can be dangerous though when I see someone doing really well and become envious in a negative way.  This serves no purpose.  I must try to be happy for them and hope that one day I, too, can be back at work at a job I love.  If I sit in jealousy and discontentment, this will encompass my mind and can be very bad for my recovery.

Please share your experiences too!

Pax

Victoria

2 comments on “The dangers of comparing…

  1. Sandra says:

    Victoria…I have been reading your blog for sometime now. My mother suffers from Schizophrenia. It has been a long road for her.I am now the caregiver for her.She has delusions.I can relate to all you have been thru.May God bless you. Sandra

    • Thank you Sandra for writing in and sharing your experience. May God bless you as well for being there for your mother in her time of need. If you would like a free copy of my book for caregivers and those afflicted please email me your address. Pax Victoria

Leave a Reply

