Happy 2014!

Well, I took in the New Year watching a movie I don’t recommend by myself.  It was fine.  I spent the day with friends and family but decided to go catch a movie by myself.  I take this as progress.  I never would have been comfortable to do so up till recently.

I love to watch movies.  Today I went to see one with my daughter and do recommend it.  It is “The Secret Life of Walter Mitty”.  I won’t ruin it but will say it has helped me to understand life better.  Now, I must be careful when I have an epiphany as I used to have them all the time when I was delusional.  But my dear daughter felt the same way about the movie so I know that it was real.

I will describe the epiphany, though, if I can find the words…

Life has its ups and downs.  Others sometimes suffer much and while I cannot always help them, I can be the best person I can be, no matter what they may be.  I cannot change people but I can be the positive force in others’ lives to the degree that I am willing to be real.  So I will continue to be real. I will continue to be me.

Pax

Victoria

2 comments on “Happy 2014!

  1. m begley says:

    My son is schizo and has been off his meds. He went out today and brought home a dog! He can’t take care of himself! How do I handle?

    ADad

    • I am sorry to hear your son has Schizophrenia and is not on meds. How old is your son and is he in full denial that he is mentally disordered? If he thinks he may have a disorder one way to help him is to use the pet to help him to help himself. A pet can be something to be used as an incentive for him to take care of himself also (part of that might be taking his meds). Pets can be extremely therapeutic at many levels so I would definitely see if he will buy into the idea that he can keep the pet if he learns to manage his own self. Hope that helps. Write anytime.
      Pax
      Victoria

Leave a Reply

