Secrecy

So to be totally honest, I am not open with my mental disorder.  I tried that at my last job and it didn’t work out so well.  All of a sudden my decisions were questioned and I was treated differently.

At my current job I did recently disclose to a colleague that I had Schizophrnia and gave her a draft of a book I am working on.  She does not treat me any different but I am not disclosing it to my current boss.  I am a very high functioning person who has a mental disorder that is under control.  There is no need to “come out” with everyone.

I have mixed emotions about this.  I would like the world to know but it seems that the stigma is out to get me and no I am not just being paranoid.

Why am I writing this blog?  I want to give hope to others especially those who have been newly diagnosed that recovery is possibile with medication.  I take my meds every day no matter how I feel because I know that without them my mind will deteriorate and I do not want that to happen.  I will let you know when my book is ready to be published and in the mean time, I will try to write here some of what is in the book.

If you suffer from Schizophrenia I encourage you to take the poll below.

Pax

Victoria

 

One comment on “Secrecy

  1. Maribeth says:

    BION I’m imsersped! Cool post!

Leave a Reply

