Welcome!

Hello.  Victoria here.  This is my first post so I would like to welcome anyone who is joining me on this journey of the unknown.  I call it the unknown because there is so much still unknown about mental disorders.  There is so much to say about my own journey and mental disorders in general.  Where to begin?  I guess I will begin with the hope that I have, that there is the possibility of recovery from Schizophrenia.  It has happened to me.  I was diagnosed in 2008 with Schizophrenia by a team of doctors at UCLA and later was given the diagnosis of Schizoaffective Disorder by my now psychiatrist, whom I still see.  After a few different medicines I was put on Risperdal which worked immediately and now also take Latuda.  Since my diagnosis I have earned a Masters Degree in psychology and currently work in the mental health field.  I am a good therapist and all positive symptoms of this disorder have left me .  It has not been an easy journey.  I do not wish it on anyone.  But I feel compelled to help others along the way and give them hope too that recovery is possible.  So stay tuned for more blogs.  Feel free to write at anytime and I will respond as I am able.  Any areas of interest will be considered.

Paz,

Victoria

Related articles
Leave a Reply

